Associate Directors

Sam Kacew, Ph.D., ATS
Associate Director, Toxicology

Sam Kacew is Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the University of Ottawa. Dr. Kacew is also Editor of the Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health which has included a number of special issues highlighting the work of the McLaughlin Centre.

William Leiss, Ph.D., FRSC
Associate Director, Risk Communication
Executive in Residence
William Leiss is a Professor in the School of Policy Studies, at Queen's University and NSERC/SSHRC Industrial Research Chair in Risk Communication and Public Policy, University of Calgary.  Dr. Leiss is Executive-in-Residence at the McLaughlin Centre and was also a recipient of Officer of the Order of Canada in 2004. 

Bette Meek, Ph.D
Associate Director, Chemical Risk Assessment
Bette Meek is currently with the University of Ottawa on interchange from Health Canada where she serves as manager for the Existing Substance Division. While at the University of Ottawa, Bette will serve as Associate Director of Chemical Risk Assessment in the McLaughlin Centre. 


Nick Birkett, Ph.D
Associate Director of Epidemiology
Nick Birkett is an Associate Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Community Medicine at the University of Ottawa. He is also an Investigator in the Institute of Population Health and is currently a member of the executive committee of the Canadian Cancer Etiology Research Network


Jan M. Zielinski, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Radiation Risk Assessment

Jan M. Zielinski is a research scientist in Environmental Health Science Bureau of Health Canada. He is leading collaborative program in radiation risk assessment between Health Canada and the Institute of Population Health. The program is based in the R. Samuel McLaughlin Centre.