Institute of Population Health
R. Samuel McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk Assessment

PAHO/WHO COLLABORATING CENTRE IN POPULATION
HEALTH RISK ASSESSMENT

Workshop on Health Risk Assessment of Essential Metals
May 6 & 7, 2008
Desmarais Building, 55 Laurier Avenue East

Get Final Program

Get Workshop Report


Workshop participants

Tuesday May 6, 2008
9:15am
Introduction and Welcome
Sam Kacew, University of Ottawa, Canada
skacew@uottawa.ca

  • View Slides

Challenges in Metals Risk Assessment:
9:30am
The metals in the Human Environment Strategic Network (MITHE-SN): The interface of Risk Assessment, Public Policy and Advocacy
Beverley Hale, University of Guelph, Canada
bhale@uoguelph.ca

10:00am
Metals Specific Risk Assessment – European Perspective
Lorraine Gambling, Rowett Research Institute, UK
L.Gambling@rri.sari.ac.uk

11:00am
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Metals Framework
Randal Wentsel, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), USA
 
Wentsel.Randy@epamail.epa.gov

Applications: Copper, Manganese and Zinc:
1:00pm
Copper – Overview & Update
Bonnie Ransom Stern, BR Stern Associates, USA
brstern1@aol.com

1:45pm
Copper – Discussant
Scott Baker, International Copper Association (ICA), USA
sbaker@copper.org

1:50pm
Copper – Discussant
Joyce Donohue, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), USA
Donohue.Joyce@epamail.epa.gov

1:55pm
Manganese – Overview & Update
Annette Santamaria, ENVIRON International Corporation, USA
asantamaria@environcorp.com

2:40pm
Manganese – Discussant
Bruce Winder, California Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), USA
bwinder@oehha.ca.gov.us

2:45pm
Manganese – Discussant
David Dorman, North Carolina State University, USA
dcdorman@gw.fis.ncsu.edu

3:15pm
Zinc – Overview & Update
Craig Boreiko, International Zinc Association, Belgium
cboreiko@ilzro.org

4:00pm
Zinc – Discussant
Ian Arnold, International Aluminium Institute, England
imfarnold@ca.inter.net

3:15pm
Zinc – Discussant
Joyce Donohue, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), USA
Donohue.Joyce@epamail.epa.gov

Wednesday May 7, 2008
9:00am
Toxicology due to excess and deficiency
Peter Aggett, University of Central Lancashire, UK
profpjaggett@aol.com

9:45am
U-Shaped dose response curves
Michael Dourson, Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA), USA
dourson@tera.org

10:45am
Combining data from different sources using categorical regression
Daniel Krewski, University of Ottawa, Canada 
 
dkrewski@uottawa.ca

11:30am
Tissue dose based risk assessment 
Melvin Anderson, The Hamner Institutes for Health Sciences, USA
MAndersen@thehamner.org

1:15pm to 3:15pm
Panel Discussion: The Path Forward

Panel Chair
Bette Meek, University of Ottawa, Canada
bmeek@uottawa.ca

Panel Members
Leonard Levy, Cranfield University, UK
len.levy@cranfield.ac.uk

Donna Mergler, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQUAM), Canada
mergler.donna@uqam.ca

William Boyes, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), USA
boyes.william@epa.gov

Barbara Beck, Gradient Corporation, USA
bbeck@gradientcorp.com

Michelle Deveau, Health Canada, Canada
michelle_deveau@hc-sc.gc.ca

Ruth Danzeisen, International Copper Association (ICA), USA
rdanzeisen@copper.org

3:15pm:
Summary
Daniel Krewski, University of Ottawa

Online presentations from the Workshop on Health Risk Assessment of EssentialMetalsare subject to copyright protection. Permission from the speaker is required prior to any copying, reproducing, or rebroadcasting any portion of the speaker’s presentations.

Sponsors for the Workshop on Health Risk Assessment of Essential Metals:
International Aluminium Institute (IAI): visit at www.world-aluminium.org
International Copper Association (ICA): visit at www.copperinfo.com
International Manganese Institute (IMnI): visit at www.manganese.org
International Zinc Association (IZA): visit at www.iza.com
Manganese Interest Group: visit at JGreen@KelleyDrye.com
McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk Assessment: visit at www.mclaughlincentre.ca
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH): visit at www.cdc.gov/niosh or at www.cdc.gov/niosh/im-held.html
Natural Resources Canada: visit at www.nrcan.gc.ca/com/index-eng.php
Rio Tinto: visit at www.riotinto.com

Websites:

Metals Framework, March 2007


Health Risk Assessment Guidance for Metals


Health Canada: Biomonitoring of Environmental Chemicals in the Canadian Health Measures Survey 

Statistics Canada: Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS)    

Model for Establishing Upper Levels of Intake for Nutrients and Related Substances: Report of a Joint FAO/WHO Technical Workshop on Nutrient Risk Assessment, 2-6 May 2005"

Other websites