wr
wer


Institute of Population Health
R. Samuel McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk Assessment

PAHO/WHO COLLABORATING CENTRE IN POPULATION
HEALTH RISK ASSESSMENT

University of Ottawa
Health Geoscience Workshop
Tabaret Hall, 550 Cumberland Street, Room 083

November 28, 2007
Use of Geoscience in Population Health Risk Assessment

Get Final Program

Workshop participants

Workshop Final Report

Transcript

Wednesday November 28, 2007

9:15am Welcome
André Lalonde, University of Ottawa
deansci@uottawa.ca

9:20am
Workshop Objectives
Andy Rencz, Natural Resources Canada
rencz@NRCan.gc.ca

9:30am
What is Geoscience?
Rod Klassen, Natural Resources Canada
klassen@NRCan.gc.ca

10:00am
What is Population Health Risk Assessment?
Daniel Krewski, University of Ottawa
Cphra@uottawa.ca

11:00am
Geoscientific data bases: data types, availability and application
Eric Grunsky, Natural Resources Canada
egrunsky@NRCan.gc.ca

11:20am
Linkages between geoscience and population health
Dave Smith, United States Geological Survey (USGS)
dsmith@usgs.gov

11:40am
Use of Geoscience data in population health risk assessment
Mark Richardson, Health Canada
mark_richardson@hc-sc.gc.ca

1:00pm
Panel Discussion “Development of a Canadian health geoscience initiative”

Panel Chair:
André Lalonde
, University of Ottawa
deansci@uottawa.ca

Panel Members:
Dave Smith, United States Geological Survey (USGS)
 dsmith@usgs.gov

Geneviève Béchard, Natural Resources Canada
gbechard@NRCan-RNCan.gc.ca

Harold Foster, University of Victoria
hfoster@office.geog.uvic.ca

Mark Hannington, Canadian Shield Research Institute, University of Ottawa
mark.hannington@uOttawa.ca

Michael Jerrett,University of California, Berkeley
jerrett@berkeley.edu

Nancy Doubleday, Carleton University
Nancy_Doubleday@carleton.ca

Pat Rasmussen, Health Canada & University of Ottawa
pat_rasmussen@hc-sc.gc.ca

3:30pm
Summary
Daniel Krewski, University of Ottawa
Cphra@uottawa.ca


Online presentations from the KT Workshop are subject to copyright protection. Permission from the speaker is required prior to any copying, reproducing, or rebroadcasiting any portion of the speaker’s presentations.

The Geoscience workshop was organized by a steering committee:

Workshop Steering Committee:
Andy Rencz, Natural Resources Canada
Daniel Bédard, McLaughlin Centre, University of Ottawa
Daniel Krewski, McLaughlin Centre, University of Ottawa
Rod Klassen, Natural Resources Canada
Stephanie Douma, Canadian Shield Research Institute, University of Ottawa

Workshop Support
Natural Resources Canada