Institute of Population Health |

 McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk  Assessment

University of Ottawa
Environmental Burden of Disease Workshop
Tabaret Hall, 550 Cumberland Street, Room 083

Monday, February 12, 2007
Environmental Burden of Disease Internationally and
Applications in the Canadian Context

Get Final Program

Get proceedings

Get Final Workshop Summary

Workshop participants

View List

8:45am
Welcome and Introduction
Daniel Krewski, University of Ottawa
cphra@uottawa.ca

View Slides

8:50am
Workshop Objectives
Sheryl Bartlett, Health Canada
Sheryl_Bartlett@hc-sc.gc.ca

View Slides

9:00am
Overview of Methods for Estimating Environmental Burden of Disease
Annette Prüss-Ustün, World Health Organization
pruessa@who.int

View Slides

9:30am
The Global Burden of Disease due to Urban Air Pollution: Estimates and Uncertainties
Aaron J Cohen, Health Effects Institute
ACohen@healtheffects.org

View Slides

10:15am
The Health Burden of Three Major Environmental Risk Factors in Mexico, National and Sub-National Analysis
Gretchen Stevens, Harvard School of Public Health


10:45am
Global Burden of Disease of Radon
Sarah Darby, Oxford University


12:45pm
Avoidable Causes of Cancer
Julian Peto, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Julian.Peto@lshtm.ac.uk

View Slides

1:15pm
Economic Evaluation of Environmental Burden of Disease
Doug Coyle
, University of Ottawa

dcoyle@uottawa.ca

View Slides

1:45pm
Demographic Epidemiology
Luc Bonneux
, Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute
Bonneux@nidi.nl

View Slides

2:30pm
Panel Discussion «Development and Use of EBD in the Canadian Context»

Panel Chair: Doug Haines, Health Canada

Panel Members:
Michael C Wolfson, Statistics Canada
wolfson@statcan.ca

View Slides

Ray Edwards, Health Canada
Ray_Edwards@hc-sc.gc.ca

View Slides

Paul De Civita
Paolo_De_Civita@videotron.ca

View Slides

Luc Bonneux, Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute
Bonneux@nidi.nl

3:45pm
EBD Workshop Summary
Daniel Krewski
, University of Ottawa
cphra@uottawa.ca

View Slides

Adjourn

Online presentations from the EBD Workshop are subject to copyright protection. Permission from the speaker is required prior to any copying, reproducing, or re-broadcasting any portion of the speaker’s presentations.

The EBD workshop was organized by Health Canada and the McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk Assessment, University of Ottawa.

Workshop Steering Committee:
Daniel Krewski, University of Ottawa
Daniel Bedard, University of Ottawa
Sheryl Bartlett, Health Canada
Adam Probert, Health Canada
Doug Haines, Health Canada
Jan Zielinski, Health Canada
Dave Stieb, Health Canada